陳泳因:硬忌廉

時間
Jun 23 – Aug 18
地點
黃邊站
廣州市白雲區黃邊北路向榮街338號
開幕酒會
6月22日,下午3-6時

一段戀情逝去,共同生活的記憶與情緒部分沉積凝結、部分漸次散去,它的殘影卻仍舊隱約支配着身體,並透過身體的移動與勞動,雕刻着外部的空間。在香港藝術家陳泳因的全新個展「硬忌廉」中,透過在廣州黃邊站空間的駐留,陳氏試驗着情感記憶、居住空間與身體之間的相互蔓延。一系列身體與情緒的練習因此在空間中展開,它們包括對情感與記憶的反覆鋪陳與折疊、對物件長時間勞動與拿捏,以及對家居和展覽空間的持續搭建。陳泳因儀式性地將「持家」的反覆勞動與創造植於黃邊站挑高、非常態的「居家」空間中,借用日常生活的材料、聲音與光線對空間感受進行着縮放、切割與關聯,在以創作介入空間的同時,亦回應着香港城市侷促又充滿應變的居住體驗。

展覽空間中的各個章節、各件創作都若即若離地回應着往事中的習慣、情緒、事件或是瞬間,並抽象地復刻着過往生活空間的局部或動線,它們召喚身體記憶的同時亦煽動着行為的意義更新。勾勒、塗抹、攪拌、擠壓、潑撒、盥洗、切割、推拉、摔打,這些既為創作又為日常的身體行動交融在作品的聲響與細節中,聯通着藝術勞動與情感勞動的共情,並藉此嘗試打開藝術創作及其公眾之間的通感失靈。此外,城市規劃、住房環境等公共結構對個體情感的形塑亦是展覽試圖激活的觀察。

在陳氏的創作裡,生活周遭——尤其是食物——的質地、色澤與光暈常被她拍攝、重疊、擠壓,進而化為日常體驗中充滿肉感的切口。「硬忌廉」中,食物亦作為一個連接居家日常、長期勞動以及雕塑形態的曖昧象徵,散落於展覽各部,與記憶結成的物件、影像的碎片、色塊在空間中構圖出一種不乏距離感又充滿沉迷的體驗。

硬忌廉」瞿暢策劃,為陳泳因瞿暢於黃邊站2019年研究項目的工作呈現。展覽由香港Para Site藝術空間黃邊站共同製作。

Shopping cart

Subtotal
Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
Checkout

Doreen Chan: Hard Cream

Date
Jun 23 – Aug 18
Location
HB Station
338, Xiangrong Street, Huangbian North Road
Baiyun, Guangzhou
Opening Reception
June 22, 3-6pm

A relationship has passed. The shared memories and emotions have, slowly, part-consolidated and part-dispersed. But the phantom from the past still commands the body into labour and movements that sculpt its surrounding space. In her new solo exhibition Hard Cream, Hong Kong artist Doreen Chan Wing Yan is testing the inter-permeation among emotional memories, living space, and the body. During her one-month residency at HB Station, a series of physical and emotional exercises is performed and presented by the artist in the exhibition space: the repetitive act of folding and unfolding personal memories, making and remaking objects, building and un-building space. Situating the labour and creativity that lie in the ritual of homemaking within HB Station’s high and unconventional “living space”, Chan uses materials, sounds and lights from the daily experience to narrow and enlarge, divide and connect the space, responding to Hong Kong’s constrained yet inventive domestic experience.

In the exhibition, each chapter and piece is loosely connected to an area or a route in an ex-lover’s co-living space, or a habit, a feeling, an incident, an instance in the past. They summon the bodily memories while instigating a series of re-defined movements that are at once domestic and artistic: sketching, smearing, stirring, squeezing, spilling, shoving, smashing, washing, cutting… They meet and entangle in the forms of sounds, lights, images, and sculptural forms, constructing an empathy between artistic labour and emotional labour, art practices and the audience. Meanwhile, the exhibition also seeks to ask how private emotion is shaped by public structures such as urban policy and housing conditions.

In Chan Wing Yan’s works, the texture, lustre, and aura of quotidian life, especially those of food, are captured, layered, and condensed into succulent cuts. Scattered in different sections in the exhibition space, food is also an ambiguous symbol that links the quotidian, chronic labour, and the sculptural form. Together with objects, fragments of images, and colour blocks, they formulate a spatial experience of distance and infatuation.

Hard Cream is curated by Qu Chang. The exhibition is co-produced by HB Station, Guangzhou and Para Site, Hong Kong, and is the result of Chan Wing Yan and Qu Chang’s participation in HB Station’s Art Project Lab, 2019.

Shopping cart

Subtotal
Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
Checkout