詛咒真言:如何殺死企業主

時間
Aug 23 – Sep 14
地點
香港上環皇后街30號5樓
開幕酒會
開幕酒會:8月22日晚上6時至8時
閉幕晚會:9月14日晚上6時至8時

「咒殺祈禱僧團-羽永光利」

 

* 參觀本展覽須提前預約。請提前48小時發電郵到info@para-site.art與我們聯繫。

 

縱觀歷史,掌權者便擁有主宰生死之絕對特權。現代性繼承了這一管制特權, 進一步使生命及身體臣服於高度世俗化且不穩定的市場條件之下,形成一種新的「生命政治」。 情感正義需要所謂道德引導,亦需考慮選擇怎樣的道德範例。

1960年代環境污染肆虐日本,令「痛痛病」「四日市哮喘」等疾病傳播於鄉村弱勢群體間。漫長的科學調查尋找着病因,而工廠污染則繼續隨意排放,當地政客、公務員以及企業主亦不惜犧牲大眾健康,蓋掩事實真相以追逐最大商業利潤。正當受害者苦不堪言、無處申冤之時,一個佛教僧團及追隨者們組成了一支示威隊伍,踏遍全日本備受爭議之工廠地盤,遊行、敲鑼打鼓、朗誦箴言、舉行「阿毘遮迦」儀式——為求將企業主詛咒致死。

「咒殺祈禱僧團」(活躍於1970年至未知年份)結合藝術、政治及宗教,並以佛教「密宗」儀式作為其前衛行動主義的基礎,為亡者的靈魂及肉體傷害申冤,並揭露當時社會道德及精神的不公。「僧團」以「反謀殺」罪名向企業主發出挑釁,因為這些罪行在司法系統下被視為「不可能之罪案」。9世紀以來,佛教密宗一直被日本政府用以「鎮護國家」,而「僧團」正正是以批判的視角將宗教之力量歸還予有需要者。

「詛咒真言:如何殺死業主」收集來自「僧團」成員罕有之文獻資料,將其與攝影記者羽永光利之作品一併展出。羽永光利(1933-1999)為「僧團」追隨者,隨後亦自己出家為僧侶。伴隨展品還有兩篇論文,「詛咒真言簡史」及「作為鬧劇的民主(勾勒中情局)」。藉此,展覽回溯反政府、反企業運動的兩個早期案例,並對現代進步主義政治思想表達質疑與不信任。

是次展覽由Para Site藝術空間國際駐留項目駐留策展人大坂紘一郎(東京Asakusa藝術空間)及東京青山 | 目黑畫廊聯合策劃,並獲羽永太朗慷慨支持。特別鳴謝Jaime Marie Davis、吳佳儒,以及Para Site藝術空間全體工作人員。

 

羽永光利(生於日本,1933-1999)是一位攝影記者,他的工作涉及藝術、政治及社會,並關注60至80年的前衛藝術及學生運動。他的攝影作品廣泛發表於《朝日畫報》(1970)及《LIFE》(1964)等雜誌。作為對展覽及藝術史的重要文獻,他的攝影作品在近年重新引起關注,並展出於巴黎龐畢度中心(1983),光州亞洲文化中心(2015)、倫敦泰特現代藝術館(2015)、東京國立現代美術館(2018)等。

 

 

Shopping cart

Subtotal
Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
Checkout

Curse Mantra: How to Kill Factory Owners

Date
Aug 23 – Sep 14
Location
Para Site Residency Flat
5/F, 30 Queen Street
Sheung Wan, Hong Kong
Opening Reception
Opening Reception: Aug 22 from 6-8pm;
Closing Party: Sep 14 from 6-8pm

Jutsatsu Kito Sodan (Mitsutoshi Hanaga)

 

*The exhibition is by appointment only. Please contact us at info@para-site.art 48 hours prior to your desired viewing time.

 

Throughout recorded history, a definitive privilege of being in power has been the right to decide life and death. Modernity endowed the state with a new biopolitical mechanism to control an individual’s life and the living body, through the precarious conditions of the market. These allow only questionable consideration of the ethical implications of emotional justice, which nevertheless still functions within a claimed moral paradigm.

The 1960s saw instances of environmental pollution in Japan, spreading fatal diseases such as the Itai-itai disease and Yokkaichi asthma among vulnerable citizens in rural regions. While lengthy scientific investigations were undertaken to determine the causes, and the factory’s mishandling of industrial waste continued, this malaise was simultaneously obfuscated by colluding local politicians, bureaucrats and business owners, sacrificing people’s health for corporate profits. Amid the victims’ suffering and unheard voices, a small collective of Buddhist monks and followers assembled a protest group that traveled across the country to disputed industrial complexes. They formed into a procession, drumming and chanting sutra, and performed Abhichara rites—in order to curse factory owners to death.

Traversing art, politics, and religion—an execution through tantric practices of esoteric Buddhism informed by avant-garde activism, Jusatsu Kito Sodan (1970-unknown) fought for spiritual and physical retaliation on behalf of the dead, and exposed the conditions of moral and emotional injustice in their newly constituted society. They challenged industrialists with counter-murder attempts, legally considered as an “impossible crime” that could not be prosecuted in their judiciary system. These activities emerged from a critical position about the historical trajectories of their religious sects and use of Tantric Buddhism for “spiritual protection” of the state since the 9th century, with the aim of returning power to the hands of those in need.

Curse Mantra: How to Kill Factory Owners gathers scarce materials of literature produced by member priests and documentary photographs by Mitsutoshi Hanaga (1933-99), who later became a monk after a transformative experience with the group. Accompanied by two essays, A Brief History of Curse Mantra and Democracy as a Farce (Figuring the CIA), the exhibition looks back in time to early examples of anti-corporate and anti-government activism, and questions the very belief—while expressing mistrust—in the effectiveness of modern progressive politics.

The exhibition is curated by Koichiro Osaka (Asakusa), a current Curator-in-Residence at Para Site, in collaboration with Aoyama | Meguro, Tokyo with generous support from Taro Hanaga. Special thanks to Jaime Marie Davis, Jiaru Wu, and all at Para Site, Hong Kong.

 

Mitsutoshi Hanaga (b. Tokyo, 1933-1999) was a photojournalist working at the intersection of art, politics and society, and a dedicated advocate of avant-garde arts and student activism since the 1960s until the 1980s. Hanaga’s photography has been published in widely circulated magazines such as Asahi Graph (1970) and LIFE (1964). It has garnered renewed attention in recent years as a vital documentation of exhibition and performance history, and exhibited at Pompidou Centre, Paris (1983), Asia Culture Center, Gwangju (2015), Tate Modern, London (2015), National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo (2018), among many others.

Shopping cart

Subtotal
Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
Checkout